You are here: Home » Referees » About ARURS


ARURS Minutes and Chair of Advisors reports are available to all members from:
Maj J J Sampson
SO2 ES Ops
HQ 1 (UK) Armd Div
Wentworth Bks
Mil: 94882 3264
Civilian: 0049 (0)5221 995 3264
Email: DII(F)


Updated: 12 Jun 14

Role Contact
CHAIRMAN Col Dave Wakefield OBE
Hon Secretary Maj Justin Sampson
VICE CHAIR Maj Gen (Retd) R Porter MBE
Maj (Retd) D Chapman MBE
Maj (Retd) S Goodall
Lt Col (Retd) R Cannons
Mr TA Merone
Hon Treasuer TBA
Resources Mr D Williams
Training and Development Capt J Voss
Deputy Training and Development TBA
Senior Appointer WO2 (AQMS) M Bentley
Discipline Officer Mr M Stevenson
PR and Webmaster Sgt S Davies

Combined Services Rugby Referees Executive Committee

Lt J V Pizii RN
Mil: 9380 24162
Civ: 02392 724162

Annual General Meeting

The AGM will be held on Friday 8th May 2015 a calling notice is attached (click here to donwload) and attendance is actively encouraged as it is your society and an opportunity for you to express your views as we take the society forward.

Annual ARURS Dinner

The next ARURS Dinner will be a held on Friday 8th May 2015 at RMAS. A return for attendance at the dinner is here (Word Document 66kb).

ARURS Annual Awards

Referee of Year

Season / Year Winner
2000/01 WO2 Tommy Wright RLC
2001/02 Maj Sid Goodall RAMC
2002/03 WO2 (AQMS) Jon Voss REME
2003/04 Lt Col Iain Clyde REME
2004/05 Maj Rob Lane RSigs
2005/06 WO2 Billy Fishwick REME
2006/07 Capt S D Penfold REME
2007/08 SSgt S Curry R Sigs
2008/09 WO2 D Williams R Welsh
2009/10 Maj J Sampson REME
2010/11 Capt S Walker 1 RRF
2011/12 Capt M Marsden RAMC
2012/13 WO2 (AQMS) M Bentley REME
2013/14 WO2 (AQMS) Bobby Moore REME

ARURS Awards for Commitment to Rugby Refereeing

Season / Year Winner
2004/05 Lt Col (Retd) RA Miller
2005/06 Maj (Retd) DJ Chapman MBE JP
2006/07 WO1 (ASM) John Voss REME
2007/08 Capt Mark Neighbour R Sigs
2008/09 Sgt Trevor Cutler REME
2009/10 WO2 (AQMS) Billy Fishwick REME
2010/11 Maj Mike Bland RLC
2011/12 Maj Mike Stevenson RE
2012/13 Bdr Steve Davies RA
2013/14 Maj Scottie Rankin R Irish

Further details, including nomination forms can be obtained from the Hon. Secretary.

RFU Value the Volunteer Awards

Gen Roddy Porter
Lt Col Dave Edmondson REME
SSgt Colin Moore REME
Maj (Retd) Sid Goodall
Col Dave Wakefield OBE ALS
Maj (Retd) Des Chapman
WO2 (AQMS) Martin Bentley REME

Leave a Reply

Scroll To Top