Home » Referees



ARURS promotes officiating within the British Army through education, training, development, and advancement of players, coaches, referees, and those who support and promote the game.

We are committed to developing the game of Rugby Football Union at all levels by embracing the core values of our sport; Teamwork, Respect, Enjoyment, Discipline and Sportsmanship.

Point of Contact to ARURS for all matters

Maj Max Marsden RAMC


ARURS Executive Committee

Updated: 03 Sep 15

Role Contact
CHAIRMAN Lt Col Gary McDade
Hon Secretary Max Marsden
VICE CHAIR Col David Wakefield OBE
Maj Gen (Retd) R Porter MBE
Maj (Retd) D Chapman MBE
Maj (Retd) S Goodall
Lt Col (Retd) R Cannons
Mr TA Merone
Hon Treasuer Claire McCarron
Society Development Officer John Voss MBE
Society Training Officer Martin Bentley
Membership and Game Management System Des Chapman
Senior Appointer Ian Farrell GG
Army Area Appointer – North Chris Green
Army Area Appointer – South WO1 Si Fudge
Army Area Appointer – Rest of World Roy Serevena
Discipline Officer Tyke Stevenson
Dinner Officer Del Tickner
Recruitment Officer Ann O’Flynn
Assistant Secretary Mark Fetters

ARURS Annual Awards

Referee of the Year

Last updated: 05 March 2018

Season / Year Winner
2000/01 WO2 Tommy Wright RLC
2001/02 Maj Sid Goodall RAMC
2002/03 WO2 (AQMS) John Voss MBE
2003/04 Lt Col Iain Clyde REME
2004/05 Maj Rob Lane RSigs
2005/06 WO2 (AQMS) Christopher Fishwick REME
2006/07 Capt Stephen Penfold REME
2007/08 SSgt Shaun Curry R Sigs
2008/09 WO2 Dai Williams RWF
2009/10 Maj Justin Sampson REME
2010/11 Capt Simon Walker 1 RRF
2011/12 Maj Max Marsden RAMC
2012/13 WO2 (AQMS) Martin Bentley REME
2013/14 WO2 (AQMS) Colin Moore REME
2014/15 WO2 Ian Bibey R Welsh
2015/16 Rfn Matt Duncan RIFLES
2016/17 Capt Iain Kiy AAC
2017/18 Ian Farrell GG

ARURS Awards for Commitment to Rugby Refereeing

Season / Year Winner
2004/05 Lt Col (Retd) Robin Miller
2005/06 Maj (Retd) Des Chapman MBE
2006/07 WO1 (ASM) John Voss MBE
2007/08 Capt Mark Neighbour R Sigs
2008/09 Sgt Trevor Cutler REME
2009/10 WO2 (AQMS) Christopher Fishwick REME
2010/11 Maj Michael Bland RLC
2011/12 Maj Michael Stevenson RE
2012/13 Bdr Steve Davies RA
2013/14 Maj Scot Rankin R Irish
2014/15 Lt Col (Retd) Richard Shore RAOC
2015/16 Tyke Stevenson REME
2016/17 Maj Nick Jones REME
2017/18 Roy Serevena RE

New Referee of the Year

Last updated: 05 March 2018

Season / Year Winner
2014/15 Maj Roy Serevena RE
2015/16 Capt Toby Rowe RSig
2016/17 Sgt Ed Chwieseni R Sig
2017/18 Rob Melluish RLC

Further details, including nomination forms can be obtained from the Hon. Secretary.

Golden Whistle Award

Last updated: 20 June 2016

Season / Year Winner
2017/18 Dai Williams
Claire MacCarron
David Wakefield
2015/16 Des Chapman
Sid Goodall
John Voss MBE
2013/14 Maj Gen Roddy Porter
Lt Col Dave Edmondson

RFU Value the Volunteer Awards

Maj Gen Roddy Porter Late RWF
Lt Col Dave Edmondson REME
SSgt Colin Moore REME
Maj (Retd) Sid Goodall RAMC
Col Dave Wakefield OBE ALS
Maj (Retd) Des Chapman RAOC
WO2 (AQMS) Martin Bentley REME
WO2 Dai Williams RWF

Leave a Reply