The Army Rugby Union (ARU) was formed in 1906 and has continued for over a hundred years to provide an infrastructure for the playing of rugby union within the British Army. Its aim is to promote and foster the game of Rugby Union within the Army and its local communities in accordance with the Laws of the Game promulgated by the Rugby Football Union (RFU).

The ARU is a Registered Charity (Number 1149105) and its day-to-day administration is conducted by a small secretariat based at Aldershot. There are several committees responsible for the various aspects of the management of Army Rugby. The ARU is part of the Army Sport Control Board (ASCB).

We encourage membership of the ARU under the Individual Membership Scheme (IMS).



PositionNameContact Details
ChairmanMajor General JMJ Bennett CBE (Jez)
Operations OfficerMr C Fowke (Chris)Email
Director of FinanceMr S Bates (Steve)Email
Director of Community RugbyColonel JP Cook OBE (James)Email
Director of Academy RugbyLieutenant Colonel JA Kennedy (Jason)Email
Director of MarketingBrigadier (Retd) PJ Allison (Paddy)
Director of Women's Senior RugbyMajor C Maxwell (Charlie)Email
Director of Masters RugbyLieutenant Colonel M Beynon MBE (Mark)Email
RFU Council MemberColonel JP Cook OBE (James)Email
Director of Men's Senior RugbyColonel AJ Fitzpatrick MBE (Sandy)Email
Chairman of DisciplineMajor R Rattenbury (Ratts)Email
Non Executive DirectorMs BSW Hobday (Brenda)
Non Executive DirectorMr A Leach (Andy)
Non Executive DirectorColonel D Rutherford (David)Email